Who we are

Core Members

Desmond Browne QC was christened by George Bell, and is a former Chairman of the Bar of England and Wales, 2009.

Andrew Chandler is a widely published historian of the twentieth-century Church of England and, most recently, the biographer of George Bell. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

Keith Clements, is Former General Secretary, Conference of European Churches.

Lord Geoffrey Dear is a Cross Bench member of the House of Lords, member of Willersey (Gloucestershire) PCC; formerly Vice Lord Lieutenant, senior police officer and HM Inspector of Constabulary.

Mark Dunn, sometime Chairman of West Sussex County council and Sussex Police Authority.

Frank Field has been the Member of Parliament for Birkenhead since 1979. He serves on the Ecclesiastical Committee and served as Chairman of the Cathedral Fabrics Commission for England from 2005 to 2015.

Anthony Harvey, formerly Fellow of Wolfson College Oxford, and Canon Theologian and Sub-Dean of Westminster from 1982 until 1999.

Lord Lexden, is a Conservative Peer and Historian.

His Honour Alan Pardoe QC was in practice at the Bar from 1973 to 2003, and was from 2003 to 2013 appointed a Circuit Judge sitting at Snaresbrook Crown Court in East London where he had substantial experience of trying allegations of sexual offences.

The Very Revd Professor Martyn Percy is the Dean (or Head) of Christ Church Oxford, as well as of the Cathedral Church of the Diocese of Oxford, and member of the Faculty of Theology and Religion, University of Oxford.

Margery Roberts is Honorary Secretary of the Nikaean Ecumenical Trust, Secretary and Treasurer of the Society of the Faith, a charity trustee, writer and churchwarden of a Westminster parish.

The Revd Philip White Roman Catholic canonist and diocesan chancellor


The Review is supported by:

Colin Armstrong, visiting research associate, School of History, Queen’s University of Belfast.
Simon Barrow, Director of the Ekklesia think-tank
John H.Y. Briggs, Emeritus Professor University of Birmingham, Faculty of Theology University of Oxford.
Charmian Brinson, Emeritus Professor Imperial College, London
The Rt Revd the Lord Carey of Clifton
Professor John Charmley, University of East Anglia
Lord Cormack DL, FSA (Member, Parliamentary Ecclesiastical Committee)
Christie Davies, Emeritus Professor of Sociology, University of Reading
Lord Davies of Stamford
The Very Revd John Drury, University of Oxford
Professor James Dunn and Mrs Meta Dunn
Brendan Gibb-Gray BEM, formerly Detective Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police
Revd Dr James Grayson, Emeritus Professor of Korean Studies, University of Sheffield
Dr Ruth Hildebrandt Grayson
John Haffenden, Senior Research Fellow, Institute of English Studies, University of London and Emeritus Professor of English Literature, University of Sheffield
Michael Hames, former Detective Superintendent at Scotland Yard and the founder of the Paedophile Squad; safeguarding consultant and media advisor.
Ruth Hildebrandt Grayson, Academic and daughter of Franz Hildebrandt
The Revd Professor David Jasper, University of Glasgow
Ann Loades CBE, Professor Emerita of Divinity, University of Durham and Honorary Professor, School of Divinity, St Andrews University.
John Lucas FBA, emeritus member of Merton College, Oxford, and Morar Lucas.
Revd Canon Dr Charlotte Methuen, Senior Lecturer in Church History, University of Glasgow.
Mother Miriam CSM, Mother Superior of the Eastern Province of the Community of Saint Mary
The Revd Dr Jeremy Morris, Master of Trinity Hall, Cambridge
Mrs Christine Reade
The Revd Donald Reeves, Founder and Director of the Soul of Europe
Dr Richard Rex, Faculty of Divinity, University of Cambridge
David Stimpson, Churchwarden in the Diocese of Southwark and former leader of Lambeth Borough Council
The Revd Canon David M. Thompson, Emeritus Professor of Modern Church History, University of Cambridge.
George Wedell, Emeritus Professor, University of Manchester